What is MORS?

What does MORS stand for?

MORS stands for Milestones of Recovery Scale.  For more information please visit the “What is MORS” section of this website.

How is MORS different from the GAF?

Both the GAF and the MORS are rapid, one number assessments that can be used to inform a variety of triage decisions and outcome evaluations.  The GAF, which focuses on symptom level and functional impairment has the underlying assumption that symptoms are nearly always inversely related to function.  In contrast, the MORS assumes that recovery can be described by evaluating risk, engagement, and skills and supports, rather than symptoms.  The two measures correlate to some extent but it is possible to receive a relatively high MORS rating even in the presence of relatively severe symptoms.

How does MORS relate to the DSM?

A MORS rating is unrelated to an individual’s DSM diagnosis.  MORS ratings are based on the individual’s behavior and quality of life, not symptoms.

Can/should the MORS be used with children? What is the lower age limit?

The MORS was designed for use with adults and should not be used with children.  Please don’t use MORS with individuals under the age of 18.

Can/should the MORS be used with older adults? What is the upper age limit?

The MORS can/should be used with older adults.  There is no upper age limit.  Because quality of life descriptors can be significantly different for an older adult population, an Older Adults version of the MORS is in development.

Is MORS a risk assessment tool?

The MORS is not a risk assessment tool.  However, risk is one of the components considered in deciding on a rating.  The MORS attempts to evaluate the level of risk currently present in an individual’s behavior rather than looking at the individual’s history of risky behavior.

Does the MORS measure the individual’s perspective on recovery?

No.  The MORS only takes into account the service provider’s perspective on the individual’s recovery.  MORS ratings can be shared with the individual and may prompt valuable discussion.

Are there different scales for different cultures? Is the scale culturally competent?

There are no culture or ethnic specific versions of the MORS.  It is expected that the individual doing the rating is culturally competent and proficient so the rating accurately reflects the individual’s culturally or ethnically based definitions of meaningful activities, roles, and relationships.

How does MORS contribute to the reduction of stigma in the community?

The MORS requires mental health staff to think differently about how the individuals they are helping can be involved with the communities of their choice by developing meaningful roles beyond the mental health system.

How much does it cost to use MORS?

There is no per administration fee to use the MORS.  The only costs associated are for the required training all MORS users must receive before using the scale.  More information on training costs are on theTraining and Resources page or by contacting us.